Hard Drive Hell

Last week I recorded a few ( apron 30/40 ) clips of a mini cat walk ( dresses ) I put the footage from an ST card onto the hard drive. Today my laptop wouldn't read it ( sometimes happens, I have to restart it and it works fine after that ) so I handed my hard drive over to my friend to put some extra footage from what i think was a different SD card. ( I do film production so it was just some clips we filmed on the day ) My friend did it but told me to double check if it went on. so i dragged the sd card symbol on my Mac over to my hard drive to ensure everything went on. A message came up if i wanted to replace, me stupidly clicking before thinking pressed yes. Then I instantly clicked on that it might over write my footage from last week which was super important to me so i pressed cancelled. I thought everything was fine but the footage is gone and no where to be seen.

 

I've accidentally formatted my Seagate 4TB external hard drive. And would like to see if the data can be recovered and what the cost involved would be. I formatted the drive on a Macbook through disk utility. The hard drive was formatted as MS-DOS (FAT). I did not write to it after I realised I'd formatted it. I'm a photographer and the drive was predominantly photos in DNG and JPEG formats with linked XMP sidecar files connected to each by name.

Android – Elephone P9000 running Android 6.0 Marshmallow has been dropped into water, phone has been taken apart to dry out but looks as if there is some corrosion of some sort, phone wont turn on.

 

When I turned on my Acer Aspire E15 512 laptop i recieved the "no bootable drive" message. I took the hard drive out and got a SATA converter box to make it an external hard drive. I then tried and failed to open the folders on it due to lack of permission. I then went to my university IT services who struggled to recover any files as their scan found an error with the hard drive. While we were able to see the files, they wouldn't copy over to their system as the connection to the drive wasn't consistently picked up. They then tried it with their own internal drive reader to the same effects. I believe there is no issue with the actual laptop though.

This is me.

Thanks for reading my blog.

I hope you find it interesting - please comment if you like.

Have a nice day.

 

Hard Disk Drive
This is a hard disk drive. These are the things that store all the data from your computers, tablets and phones. There are billions of them in the world, but most people know absolutely nothing about them.